Nominees for the 2017 Marcel Duchamp Prize

The artists Maja Bajevic, Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, Charlotte Moth, and Vittorio Santoro are the nominees for the 2017 Prix Marcel Duchamp, France’s most important contemporary art prize.

The nominees were announced on February 2 by the selection committee of the French art prize—formed by 11 collectors from the Association for the International Diffusion of French Art (ADIAF)—during an event held at the auction house Artcurial, in Paris.

The work of the nominees will be seen as part of a group show at the Centre Pompidou opening on October 4, 2017.

Maja Bajevic was born in 1967 in Sarajevo and lives and works in Paris. Her work explores events in recent history—including the questions of collective identity, ideology, and sociology—through sculpture, installation, video and sound. She is represented by Galerie Michel Rein, Paris and Brussels; and Peter Kilchmann, Zurich.


Maja Bajevic, exhibition view at Michel Rein, Paris, 2014. Courtesy Michel Rein, Paris.


Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige were born in 1969 in Beirut, and live and work between Paris and Beirut. Their moving image-based works are concerned with issues of violence and mourning, blurring the boundaries between the cinema and art worlds, and between documentary and fiction. They are represented by Galerie In Situ-Fabienne Leclerc, Paris; The Third Line, Dubai; and CRG Gallery, New York.

Charlotte Moth was born in 1978 in Carshalton, UK, and lives and works in Paris. She creates sculptural and architectural installations, often incorporating video and photography, concerned with the notions of memory and experience. She is represented by Galerie Marcelle Alix, Paris 

Vittorio Santoro was born in 1962 in Zurich and lives and works between Paris and Zurich. Fascinated with objects and the stories they tell, Santoro’s highly conceptual works can take the form of sculpture, sound, photography, and installation. He is represented by Galerie Thomas Bernard – Cortex Athletico in Paris; and Counter Space, Zurich.

This year’s winner will be announced at Centre Pompidou on October 16, 2017, during FIAC week, and will receive a €35,000 cash prize.

This year, the jury of the prize is formed by Bernard Blistène, director of the Centre Pompidou; Gilles Fuchs, president of the ADIAF; Carmen Gimenez, curator at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York; Erika Hoffmann, founder of the Sammlung Hoffmann Collection in Berlin; Mao Jihong; collector and president of Exception of Mixmind and Fangsuo in Guangzhou; the curator Jérôme Sans; and Akemi Shiraha, representing the Marcel Duchamp Association for the prize.

The Prix Marcel Duchamp was established in 2000 by the ADIAF in partnership with the Centre Pompidou. It is awarded to a French artist or artist residing in France representative of his or her generation.


By Lorena Muñoz-Alonso


Developed in conjunction with Joomla extensions.