Turner Prize 2019 Winners Announced

It has been announced that the Turner Prize 2019 has been awarded, for the first time in its history, to a collective bringing together the four nominated artists: Oscar Murillo, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Helen Cammock, and Tai Shani. 

The decision was made after the four artists contacted the jury to ask for the prize to be awarded to them as a collective, stating: “At this time of political crisis in Britain and much of the world, when there is already so much that divides and isolates people and communities, we feel strongly motivated to use the occasion of the prize to make a collective statement in the name of commonality, multiplicity and solidarity—in art as in society.” 

Featuring solo presentations by all four artists, the Turner Prize exhibition is on view at Turner Contemporary in Margate, UK, through January 12, 2020.

The Turner Prize is named after J.M.W. Turner (1775-1851) who was an innovative and controversial artist in his day, is now seen as one of the greatest British artists, and expressed a wish to establish a prize for young artists. Turner Contemporary is named after the artist for similar reasons; our work is inspired by Turner’s innovative and radical approach to art.

The members of the Turner Prize 2019 jury are Alessio Antoniolli, Director, Gasworks & Triangle Network; Elvira Dyangani Ose, Director of The Showroom Gallery and Lecturer in Visual Cultures at Goldsmiths; Victoria Pomery, Director, Turner Contemporary, Margate and Charlie Porter, writer. The jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director of Tate Britain.


Developed in conjunction with Joomla extensions.